Pokemon GO Book Tag

So, if anyone follows me on Twitter (@KatCho), then you KNOW how obsessed I am with Pokemon GO. So when Katy Pool tagged me in her POST, I was like, “Yes please!”

It was started by ReadatMidnight and is a fun way to talk about books we love by comparing them to the Pokemon we’re catching in the game. I have to admit that even though I grew up during the 90s I did not get that into Pokemon. So, I’ve been doing some MAJOR catching up lately.

Okay, here we go!

No doubt, the book (series) that I first ever binge-read was Animorphs.

I want to say Mossflower. It’s one of the first books I wrote fanfiction about. So much adventure and food and bravery and amazingness!

I also want to say any book by Roald Dahl. I devoured those. They just made me believe in the fantastical.

Oh! Also, I loved Douglas Adams books. Some of the first books that made me laugh out loud.

Don’t laugh at me, but (probably because I don’t read horror) Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets terrified me.

SPOILER ALERT

(but I assume most people have read HP)

That basilisk travels IN THE WALLS! It can be ANYWHERE. It can be in your toilet! It can kill and/or petrify you by LOOKING AT YOUR FACE. I mean, come on, terrifying.

I adore Zuzana and Mik (from the Daughter of Smoke and Bone series. They’re the mains in Night of Cake and Puppets). I know that they’re not the main couple in the series but I don’t care. They are made for each other and they’re amazing!

I do also love Karou and Akiva from the Daughter of Smoke and Bone series. They are just my everything.

The Elemental series by Brigid Kemmerer is AMAZING and a good fast-paced read.

Also, anything by Jennifer L Armentrout.

The Percy Jackson series by Rick Riordan. That one spawned a WHOLE OTHER series and some side stories/novellas and joined forces with another series by Rick Riordan which took place in a different place in the same universe. But I devoured ALL OF THEM. I adore the Percy Jackson universe.

 UGH, there are too many!

The Gauntlet by Karuna Riazi 

Caraval by Stephanie Garber

The Amaterasu Project by Axie Oh

WinterSong by Sara Jae Jones

The Hate U Give by Angela Thomas

Swimming Lessons by Samira Ahmed

 

Nora Roberts, Laini Taylor, Alexandra Bracken

I don’t think “overhyped” is how I’d describe it, because it seems like the love of this series is very well-deserved. But I have the whole Grisha Trilogy by Leigh Bardugo and cannot wait to read it.

Strange the Dreamer by Laini Taylor

Want by Cindy Pon

Spirit Hunters by Ellen Oh

I just bought Monstress by Marjorie Liu and didn’t get it fast enough to buy the first edition cover (I have third). I kind of wish I had the first edition just because that series is epic.

Lord of the Rings by J.R.R. Tolkien. Although, I own THREE copies of each of the trilogy and a copy of the Hobbit. They were Christmas/Birthday presents. Apparently, when you write SFF, you get LOTR for presents a lot.

I tag Claribel Ortega.

One thought on “Pokemon GO Book Tag

Leave a Reply

