NaNoWriMo Time & Intro of "Kat-Cho-NaNoWriMo-Mo(ndays)"

Reasons I love fall: apple cider, Thanksgiving, pretty trees AND NaNoWriMo!

National Novel Writing Month, or NaNoWriMo as the cool kids say, is a challenge to write 50,000 words in the month of November.
(If you want to find out more, go HERE for a quick guide on how to NaNo and what the site provides you for FREE)

NaNo starts NEXT WEEK! (Eeek, I can’t believe November is almost here!)

I do an intro post for NaNoWriMo almost every year because I think it’s a pretty great event (and as a pantser it’s my jam)

It also binds us together as we all slowly fall into a deep pit of writing depression while trying to meet word count. (Just kidding…mostly)

But not kidding about the fact that NaNoWriMo does bring us together. There are great regional groups all over the world and they host things like write-ins and word sprints where you can try out new writing spaces and meet new people! (There is no requirement to share your work at these events, just a way to get motivated by merely being around other writers)

This year, my main intro to NaNo will be on a NEW blog site started by a few friends and me called ChiYA for Chicago YA writers. Since we’re all at different stages (and have experienced things like querying, getting agent offers, and going on submission) we would love to share our journeys and a bit of advice that we pick up along the way. So, if you’re a Chicago writer (doesn’t matter if you write YA or not) then please check out the new blog site!

I participated in NaNoWriMo for the past three years. I loved it, I loved meeting new people and working on a new WiP. I got super inspired (often times halfway through NaNo) to write new MSs. And I got my agent with an MS that was finished during NaNo.

So, there you go.

Anyway, I love the idea of NaNoWriMo. I like anything that gets people to write and to get excited about writing.

If you want, you can find me on the site and we can be NaNoWriMo pals! (I’m katjc589)

This time around I’m going to try to do a check in every Monday of the month of November. Partly to share my journey and partly to keep me accountable. I want to have actual content for these blog posts, so I’ll try to write and experience as much as possible this Nano.

I’m going to call it NaNoWriMo Mondays. OR Kat-Cho-NaNoWriMo-Mo(ndays)

So, to start it out, I’ll intro the brand new WiP I’m writing. It’s based loosely on the premise of the K-Drama Goong (Princess Hours). The idea is that the Joseon Dynasty (the last king-lead dynasty of ancient Korea) never ended and there is a modern day monarchy. So, it’s an alt-history setting. And the reason it never ended is that one of the young princesses of the Lee family gained control of a dragon in the early 1900s. So it’s also a modern-day fantasy. I never knew how much I loved contemporary fantasy until I wrote my last MS, Gumiho!

So, there you go, I’m going to try to write about Korea (again) and dragons and princesses and adventure!

Leave a Reply

